Skip to content ↓
Meadowhead School

Meadowhead SchoolAcademy Trust

English Baccalaureate

What is the English Baccalaureate (EBacc)?

The Government believes that schools should offer students a broad range of academic subjects to age 16, and the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) promotes that aspiration.

EBacc is not a separate subject but a collection of FIVE core academic subjects. To gain the EBacc you have to get a level 5 (strong pass) or above in English, mathematics, sciences, a language and a humanities subject.

What subjects and qualifications will count towards the English Baccalaureate?

To gain the EBacc qualification, you have to get a Grade 5 or above in the following subjects:

  1. English - English Language or English Literature
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science
    Two of: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science
    Or: Double Award Science
    Or: Science plus an additional Science
  4. Languages
    French, German or Spanish
  5. History or Geography

Any other essential information?

Students will be given further information within their interviews as to their suitability for the EBacc. Please see any senior staff if you need any further information.