Skip to content ↓
Meadowhead School

Meadowhead SchoolAcademy Trust

E-Safety at Meadowhead School

The terms of the Keeping Children Safe in Education 2020 legislation has given a further emphasis to e-safety.  Due to recent events and Covid-19 restrictions there has been a rise in children using the internet for both entertainment, communication and online learning.

Many parents express concerns regarding their children’s use of the internet.  Many are also concerned as they don’t always understand exactly what the new dangers are and how they can help to protect their children.

At Meadowhead School our aim is to teach young people to ‘become responsible users of technology’.  Technology offers a host of benefits to young people when used in the correct way.

school computersAlthough the internet offers a massive array of educational benefits there are also some areas and activities which are inappropriate. Meadowhead School has first class internet filtering software. However, many students now have access to unfiltered content on either their mobile phone/device or through their home’s internet connection. Therefore giving up to date teaching and helping students to develop a responsible attitude is key in ensuring they are able to keep themselves safe online at all times. 

A whole school approach will be used to ensure that students receive regular teaching through a variety of curriculum and pastoral sources. The Computing / ICT department will deliver sessions ranging from safe use of social media to how to deal with inappropriate content. The Ethics department will be delivering a range of topics from online gambling, grooming and extremist web content. Students will also receive updates in assemblies and through work with their form tutors.

Technology changes extremely quickly with new applications, software, content and threats are emerging almost daily.  As a school we have invested in a new system to help parents keep up to date with easy to access information. As a parent you have full access to National Safety Online. national online safety

Please get in touch if you have any issues with accessing the system or have any questions on e-safety.  Your special link to sign up free for full access is  http://nationalonlinesafety.com/enrol/meadowhead-school-academy-trust

We have also compiled a list of some useful web sites which you may wish to look at.  You can find the details by clicking  HERE

If you have any further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to e-mail on e-safety@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

We do hope you find this information useful for your discussions with your children regarding e-safety.

Contacts

For e-safety / online concerns please do not hesitate to contact the school via telephone and the email addresses below:-

School number: 0114 2372723
 

Year 7

Alice Hunter (Pastoral Manager) huntera@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension:  707

Neil Cooper (Head of Year) coopern@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 807

Year 8

Rachael Brown (Pastoral Manager) brownr@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 708

Angela Evans (Head of Year) evansa@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 808

 

Year 9

Janis Jackson (Pastoral Manager) jacksonj@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 709

Sarah Smith (Head of Year) smiths@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 809

 

Year 10

Edwina Smith (Pastoral Manager) smithe@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 710

Greg Hill (Head of Year) hillg@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 810

 

Year 11

Nikki Drew-Brummit (Pastoral Manager) graym@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 711

Mike Needham (Head of Year) needhamm@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 811

 

Year 12

Fay Robinson (Head of Year) robinsonf@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension:  813

Kobi Cookson (Pastoral Manager) cooksonk@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 712

 

Year 13

Richard Beigel (Head of Year) beigelr@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 812

Kobi Cookson (Pastoral Manager) cooksonk@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Telephone extension: 712

 

Other

Helen Weeks (Assistant Head Teacher and Designated Safeguard Lead) weeksh@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Dan Healey (Online Safety Lead Teacher) healeyd@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk or e-safety@meadowhead.sheffield.sch.uk

Please contact Dan for assistance with the National Safety Online package or any other aspect of e-safety.

Telephone extension: 765/766