Skip to content ↓
Meadowhead School

Meadowhead SchoolAcademy Trust

BTEC First Award in Health and Social Care

BTEC First Award in Health and Social Care - September 2018

This course is taught over THREE years and is worth ONE GCSE.

What will I do on this course?

This course is made up of three units; Each unit is made up of different criteria that must be achieved in order to pass the course.


Component number

Component Title


How assessed


Human Lifespan Development




Health and Social Care Services and Values




Health and Wellbeing




How will I be assessed?

  • You will have assignments to complete in each unit. (Unit 3 being a synoptic external task)
  • There are 7 grades: Level 1 Pass, Level 1 Merit, Level 1 Distinction, Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 distinction and Level 2 Distinction*

The evidence from these and your coursework are put together to produce a portfolio of evidence.  Officials from the examining board then externally assess this at the end of the course.

What skills do I need?

  • A genuine interest in caring for others
  • Excellent attendance and punctuality
  • Functional literacy skills and good organisation skills including homework

Where will I find more information?

Any other essential information?

This qualification would be relevant for pupils considering a career in private care, the NHS, education or the Local Authority as care practitioners.  There are many routes stemming from this qualification, including:

  • NVQs in a variety of care sectors e.g. Health, Working with young Children
  • Level 2 qualifications e.g. BTEC, CACHE
  • Level 3 qualifications e.g. AS/A-levels (NB grade Cs in English and Maths are also normally required for this route)

The course involves many practical skills and pupils must be prepared to work independently and in groups. Maintaining professional standards is an essential part of assessment and therefore pupils must act professionally at all times when on visits/trips or short work placements.